Triggerfish of the Maldives

I have previously wrote about Triggerfish and their undeserved reputation for being overly aggressive which you can read here:
https://maldiviandreamer.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/triggerfish-undeserved-bad-press/

After seeing 10 different species in the Maldives I conclude that they are not aggressive unless you accidentally swim into their nesting ground at certain times of the year.

I have seen 4 species of triggerfish at all the Maldivian islands I have been to plus others, however this year at Kuramathi I saw 2 new species! I photographed the following new species whilst snorkeling the house reef:

1. Wedge-tail Triggerfish

2. Boomerang Triggerfish

This brings the total number of triggerfish I have seen in the Maldives to 10!

 

Leave a Reply

